The Dean's Advisory Council on Institutional Access (DACIA) 9/9/2024, 2:30PM-3:30PM

<u>Present:</u> Ana Bracic (PoliSci), Michele Brock (SW), Phil DeOrtentiis (HRLR), Stacy Dickert-Conlin (EC), Noah Durst (SPDC), Jinny Han (HDFS), Karen Holt (CJ), Andrea Louie (Anthro), Erin Bunting (GEO), Juan Javier Pescador (HST), Jennifer Carrera (SOC)

Absent: Noël Lugo (PSY)

<u>College Administrative Support:</u> Nwando Achebe (Associate Dean for Access, Faculty Development and Strategic Implementation,), Veda Hawkins (Assistant Dean for Access and Undergraduate Education) and Victoria Pierce (Access Office Manager)

Notes/Agenda:

1. Welcome

A. Meeting was called to order at 2:35PM.

2. Approval of Minutes

A. The committee approved the minutes from April without correction.

3. OIA Updates

- A. DRAP Fellows Introduction Dr. Achebe introduced cohort 4 of the Dean's Research Associate Program; Ahleah Miles from HRLR, Gabriel Johnson from Social Work, Aldo Barrita from Psychology and Angie Torres-Beltran from Political Science.
- B. Strategic Implementation Dr. Achebe gave an update on the status of the strategic implementation. There are nine subcommittees comprising of staff, faculty and alumni developing initiatives for the strategic objectives. The subcommittees are meeting consistently and making progress.
- C. Signature initiatives In addition to the initiatives that will be executed from the strategic implementation subcommittees, the OIA office has two signature programs that they will be implementing. They are student focused, mainly undergraduate student focused. First is an overhaul the STAR program, students who are on academic probation. It will be a holistic approach to getting them off probation. Second will be a First Gen program. Committee discussed FAME program as a resource within these programs. SSC has the largest number of independent students.
- D. Discussed name change of office and titles.

4. Procedural Document Review

A. Reviewed election of chair procedures, will review the rest at a further meeting.

5. Vote in New Chair

A. Stacy Dickert-Conlin was chosen as chair

6. Adjournment