Social Scientists Honored at College Awards Ceremony

April 25, 2019 - Liz Schondelmayer

College of Social Science Faculty and Alumni were honored on Wednesday April 24th at the MSU Union ballroom. The ceremony recognized the best of the best within the College of Social Science network – those who are truly transforming the human experience and inspiring tomorrow’s leaders.

The evening began with remarks from Dean Rachel Croson, followed by recognition of this year’s inductees onto the School of Criminal Justice Wall of Fame. The honored alumni were Thomas Brooks, Marlon Lynch and John Smykla.

Next up were the Faculty Awards, which recognized the professors and researchers within the college who are going above and beyond to impact students and their communities. Award recipients were:

  • Outstanding Teacher Award: Kaston Anderson-Carpenter
  • Rising Star Research Award: Bill Chopik
  • Cross-Disciplinary Research Award: Peilei Fan & Steven Kozlowski
  • Leadership Council Research Award: Ed MxGarrell
  • Teaching Excellence Award: John Dunn & Ralph Pyle

The event also recognized Alumni of the College who have significantly impacted their communities for the better and obtained the highest level of professional and personal accomplishment. This year’s winners were:

  • Distinguished Alumni Award: Miles Gordon
  • Alumni Service Award: Don Spence & Ann Tomlanovich
  • Young Alumni Award: Brooke Yost & Michael Watson
  • Humanitarian Award: Karen Schrock
  • Philanthropy Award: Christine Mason Soneral

The College of Social Science was honored to host this event and recognize each and every award recipient. Congratulations again!